An Apology and an Explanation

To my readers, I apologize for being MIA the past few months. With the turning of the calendar in January 2012, my position on Hardbop took a back seat as I became deeply involved in another set of blog posts for wbgo.org. WBGO is an extremely reputable and prolific jazz radio station, arguably the best on the planet. I have been collaborating with NPR’s JazzSet with Dee Dee Bridgewater. I have provided links to my blog posts and will continue to update, via this blog, my subsequent work with WBGO.

JazzSet turns 20 this year so I’ve been troweling the archives and hand selecting clips of killer musicians. I hasn’t been too challenging to find the best stuff, in fact, its  challenging choosing what not to post. These clips are rare, not released on any record, take advantage to hear and learn about this music while its up on the web. I’ll be continuing them throughout April closing out sometime this summer TBD. Also, count on a full report from the first annal Center City Jazz Festival in Philadelphia, PA.

Post #1:  Bobby McFerrin and Bela Fleck and the Flecktones

Post #2: Joe Henderson, Don Byron and Terrence Blanchard

Post #3: Kenny Kirkland, Uri Caine and Geoff Keezer

Post #4: Holly Hofmann, Dianne Reeves, Toshiko Akiyoshi and Regina Carter

Post #5: David Murray Big Band and Josh Redman

Post #6: Junior Cook, Gary Burton and Elvin Jones

Post #7: Victor Goines, Alex Spiagin ann Gianluigi Trovesi’s Octet

Leave a comment