The Ari Hoenig Trio w/ Orrin Evans & Kevin Arthur

On Monday, December 28th 2009, I found myself searching for jazz in the west village. I had to look no further than “Smalls”. Although I was at the club from 7:45pm to 2:00am the next morning, I was only able to document Ari Hoenig’s incredible trio. During the first bands set at 7:30, Larry Ham delicately tickled the piano with a stellar trio reminiscent of Ahmad Jamal minus the dramatics I love so much. It was during Ham’s two sets that I was able to sit down with co-owner Lee Kostrinsky for a great conversation, mainly addressing my curiosity on the current jazz poetry connection in NYC. This question will later be addressed in my field work Summer 2010. Lee’s perspective is extremely powerful, as his is passion and spirit for New York City. Check out the interview transcription with him over in the right column.

Leave a Reply

